Pork Katsu Curry Rice by Misato

It’s been a while since I posted and it’s because I have been busy with real life stuff. And now I’m back, and this time, I’m in London! You know what that means: new places to try! I joined my wife a couple of days ago and she toured me around Central London on the first few days. We went to the famous Big Ben, the London Eye and the Buckingham Palace to name a few. After a tiring first day, she told me that I needed to try this Japanese place she went to before since it was by far, one of the most worth it restaurant around London. Being really tired and hungry at that time, I knew I would enjoy any food given to me. After a few train rides (trains here are amazing!) we finally arrived at Chinatown where the restaurant called Misato was located. As we entered, I was surprised as to how many people were there that we ended up on queue for a while. After a few minutes, a table got freed up so we got to sit down and look at the menu. Browsing through the menu, I stumble across something that I really love eating, curry! So I ordered the Pork Katsu Curry Rice for my dinner that day.

IMG_0083
Pork Katsu Curry Rice for £6.00

Once my order arrived, I was surprised as to how big the portion of the pork katsu was! It was bigger than my hand and was cooked golden brown! I was drooling a bit just from the smell of the meat. It was served with hot white rice and some vegetables, much like a value meal in other restaurants. After saying grace, I took a bite from the katsu and was delighted a how crunchy the outside was while being soft and tender in the inside. The portion I ate had a bit of fat in it which blended with the taste of the tender meat. It was juicy and savoury, which actually had me eating bite after bite. The curry sauce had a mild aroma and and flavour, which I expected from a Japanese restaurant since they have a different take from other cultures (Indian, for example). It didn’t overpower the pork, but rather complimented it. It’s texture was also smoother than the ones I’m accustomed to eating, and I found that very refreshing for the palate. Because of the big portion, I couldn’t finish it all and was forced to stop, even though I was really enjoying eating it. Overall, it was indeed a great meal for its great value and will definitely be back if I’m around the area!

Rating: 7.5/10

Follow them on their social media accounts:

Misato Facebook

Leave a Reply

